Skip Navigation
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Text Size small medium large

News Release: December 18, 2013

Bookmark and Share

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission to Celebrate 1,000th Meeting

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) will celebrate its 1,000th Commission meeting on December 19, 2013, with a gathering of former FERC Chairmen and a performance by a student from the Duke Ellington School of the Arts.

The Commission celebration will take place during its regularly scheduled December meeting. It will begin with the National Anthem performed by Audrey Rinehart, a student at the Duke Ellington School of the Arts in Washington, D.C. When the Commission completes its work, former FERC Chair Elizabeth Moler (1993-1997) and Chairmen James Hoecker (1997-2001), Curt Hébert Jr. (2001) and Joseph Kelliher (2005-2008) will join Acting Chairman Cheryl LaFleur and Commissioners Philip Moeller, John Norris and Tony Clark at the dais for a retrospective discussion of Commission activities.

FERC was formed in 1977 when Congress enacted the Department of Energy Organization Act, which reorganized the Federal Power Commission and expanded its responsibilities to better address the nation’s energy challenges. FERC administers the Federal Power Act, the Natural Gas Act and the Interstate Commerce Act. Congress created the Federal Power Commission in 1928.

FERC’s 1,000th meeting will begin at 10 a.m. Thursday, December 19, 2013, in the Commission Meeting Room at FERC Headquarters, 888 First St. NE, Washington, D.C. 20426.