Skip Navigation
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Media News Releases Archives October-December 2003

Text Size small medium large

News Release: November 25, 2003 Print this page

Chairman Wood Welcomes New Commissioners, Cites Appointees' Experience, Fresh Ideas

Pat Wood, III, Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, today welcomed two new commissioners to the panel. Commissioners Joseph T. Kelliher and Suedeen G. Kelly have now been sworn in as members of the Commission after the Senate confirmed their appointments on November 7.

The Chairman commented: "We have hugely important tasks ahead of us as we tackle the crucial issues in modern energy regulation. Both Joe and Suedeen bring a wealth of talent and impressive experience to the table. I expect their fresh ideas and analytical prowess to speed us on our way. I am delighted to have them on the team."

Commissioner Kelliher, whose term expires on June 30, 2007, was Majority Counsel to the House energy committee before becoming Senior Policy Advisor to Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham, where he helped develop the Administration's National Energy Policy. Commissioner Kelly, whose term expires on June 30, 2004, is a former chair of the New Mexico Public Service Commission and Regulatory Counsel for the California Independent System Operator.

For more details on the new Commissioners' backgrounds, see the Commission's website at


Print this page