Federal Energy Regulatory Commission skip navigation



 
Text Size small medium large
Small/Low-Impact Hydropower Projects


Process Overview

In preparing conduit and 10-MW exemption applications, applicants should follow section 4.38(b) Leaving FERC.gov of the Commission's regulations. If applying for a license, there are three processes available: Integrated Licensing Process (ILP), Traditional Licensing Process (TLP), and the Alternative Licensing Process (ALP). Many small hydropower developers prefer to use the Commission's TLP because the TLP has fewer defined pre-filing steps and deadlines than the ILP, has a more informal study development process than the ILP, and does not require the formation of a collaborate workgroup like the ALP. For further information click each box:

Process Overview File Preliminary Information Consult Stakeholders Information Gathering Application Preparation


For a summary of the major differences between each licensing process see: Matrix Comparing the Three Licensing Processes.


CONTACT
Conduit Exemptions
Robert Bell
Telephone: 202-502-6062
Email: robert.bell@ferc.gov

Northwest Area
(WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, AK, HI)
Ryan Hansen
Telephone: 202-502-8074
Email: ryan.hansen@ferc.gov

West Area
(CA, NV, AZ, NM, CO, UT)
Shana Murray
Telephone: 202-502-8333
Email: shana.murray@ferc.gov

Midwest Area
(ND, SD, NE, KS, MO, MN, WI, IA, IL, MI, IN, OH)
Lesley Kordella
Telephone: 202-502-6406
Email: lesley.kordella@ferc.gov

Mid-Atlantic Area
(VA, WV, MD, PA, NY, NJ, DE)
Monir Chowdhury
Telephone: 202-502-6736
Email: monir.chowdhury@ferc.gov

South Area
(TX, OK, AR, LA, MS, TN, AL, GA, KY, FL, NC, SC)
Michael Spencer
Telephone: 202-502-6093
Email: michael.spencer@ferc.gov

New England Area
(CT, MA, NH, VT, RI, ME)
Tom Dean
Telephone: 202-502-6041
Email: thomas.dean@ferc.gov
 
Small/Low-Impact Hydropower Projects

Main Page

Getting Started Prepare an Application Expedite Your Project


Updated: August 19, 2013