Federal Energy Regulatory Commission skip navigation


FERC Seal



 
Text Size small medium large
Small/Low-Impact Hydropower Projects

Small hydropower project outflowWhat You Can Do
After considering the energy resource, the following factors can help you move through the process quickly:

    Choose a site where there will likely be few environmental concerns
    • Locate the project at an existing dam or conduit
    • Design the project to have little change to water flow and use
    • Avoid areas with endangered species or fish passage issues
    Provide sufficient information in the application
    • Document the rights needed for project construction and operation
    • Take advantage of existing information on environmental resources in the project area
    • Address any issues that have been identified
    Conduct adequate consultation
    • Identify the key federal and state agencies, tribes, and citizen groups likely to have an interest in your project
    • Meet with the stakeholders as soon as possible in the planning process
    • Provide stakeholders with information sufficient to describe your project


CONTACT
Conduit Exemptions
Robert Bell
Telephone: 202-502-6062
Email: robert.bell@ferc.gov

Northwest Area
(WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, AK, HI)
Ryan Hansen
Telephone: 202-502-8074
Email: ryan.hansen@ferc.gov

West Area
(CA, NV, AZ, NM, CO, UT)
Shana Murray
Telephone: 202-502-8333
Email: shana.murray@ferc.gov

Midwest Area
(ND, SD, NE, KS, MO, MN, WI, IA, IL, MI, IN, OH)
Lesley Kordella
Telephone: 202-502-6406
Email: lesley.kordella@ferc.gov

Mid-Atlantic Area
(VA, WV, MD, PA, NY, NJ, DE)
Monir Chowdhury
Telephone: 202-502-6736
Email: monir.chowdhury@ferc.gov

South Area
(TX, OK, AR, LA, MS, TN, AL, GA, KY, FL, NC, SC)
Michael Spencer
Telephone: 202-502-6093
Email: michael.spencer@ferc.gov

New England Area
(CT, MA, NH, VT, RI, ME)
Tom Dean
Telephone: 202-502-6041
Email: thomas.dean@ferc.gov
 
Small/Low-Impact Hydropower Projects

Main Page

Getting Started Prepare an Application Expedite Your Project


Updated: May 4, 2012