Federal Energy Regulatory Commission skip navigation



 
Text Size small medium large
Small/Low-Impact Hydropower Projects

What Can FERC Do
Potential small hydropower project site FERC can expedite the process in the following ways:

  • Waive some pre-filing consultation requirements (with resource agency cooperation);
  • Combine environmental scoping with pre-filing consultation;
  • Combine public noticing requirements;
  • Shorten comment periods;
  • Coordinate with resource agencies to obtain their final terms and conditions before we issue an environmental assessment, instead of the customary preliminary and final versions
  • Use a single environmental document (opposed to using draft and final documents); and
  • Issue the order on the same day as the environmental assessment.


CONTACT
Conduit Exemptions
Robert Bell
Telephone: 202-502-6062
Email: robert.bell@ferc.gov

Northwest Area
(WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, AK, HI)
Ryan Hansen
Telephone: 202-502-8074
Email: ryan.hansen@ferc.gov

West Area
(CA, NV, AZ, NM, CO, UT)
Shana Murray
Telephone: 202-502-8333
Email: shana.murray@ferc.gov

Midwest Area
(ND, SD, NE, KS, MO, MN, WI, IA, IL, MI, IN, OH)
Tyrone Williams
Telephone: 202-502-6331
Email: tyrone.williams@ferc.gov

Mid-Atlantic Area
(VA, WV, MD, PA, NY, NJ, DE)
Monir Chowdhury
Telephone: 202-502-6736
Email: monir.chowdhury@ferc.gov

South Area
(TX, OK, AR, LA, MS, TN, AL, GA, KY, FL, NC, SC)
Michael Spencer
Telephone: 202-502-6093
Email: michael.spencer@ferc.gov

New England Area
(CT, MA, NH, VT, RI, ME)
Tom Dean
Telephone: 202-502-6041
Email: thomas.dean@ferc.gov
 
Small/Low-Impact Hydropower Projects

Main Page

Getting Started Prepare an Application Expedite Your Project


Updated: May 4, 2012